Can I ask you a question?

Have you ever been in love?

For the past year or so, I’ve been (somewhat awkwardly) asking this question to friends, family and strangers alike, in an attempt to gain perspective on something that has been fascinating and baffling humans for as long as we’ve existed. It’s a topic that has been pondered in mythology, become a cliché in movies and been dreamed of by many.

My follow up question is always some variation of “Did it change you, teach you something or give you a new perspective?” Although these may seem like super inappropriate questions to ask perfect strangers, I don’t think we should ever avoid talking about life and our experiences with it, the good, the bad, the confusing, and the awkward. In fact, this little survey of mine has led to some of the most honest and interesting conversations I’ve ever had. Some people panic when I ask the question, some people are very open and happy to talk about it, some people kind of look at me weird but still answer, others get philosophical on me. Still other times, people totally shut me down and that’s cool too if they don’t want to get personal.

So what’s my point? I guess I ask because I feel like love is something that can never be clearly defined. It’s perceived by each of us differently. Personally, I know for a fact that I have experienced love but have never been “in” love. If I don’t have any “in” love experience to draw on and it doesn’t have a definition, my only way to learn more is by asking people. On the flip side, it’s not so much learning about love that is the purpose behind the question. What I’m really hoping for when I ask is to get a perspective on that person. Because love tends to be so personal, I feel like an individual’s thoughts about it can tell me so much about them. Sorry for being nosey friends, I just wanna get to know ya!

For real though, I wish more people went straight for the real questions. This habit arose out of pure desperation not to have the “What’s your name, major, home town, residence and favourite colour?” one more freaking time. Like, yes, cool, I’m glad that you’re from Toronto like every other person I’ve talked to today. Please, tell me something you’re passionate about or a person in your life that you really admire. Maybe it’s not “have you ever been in love” but I challenge you to ask a question this week that forces you to learn something real about a friend or a stranger. One of my other friends this week said that she likes to ask strangers on the bus what their favourite quote is and why. Sure you may never see that person again but hey, you made an effort to connect with another human!

THAT IS ALWAYS WORTH YOUR TIME.

Anyways, I’m not sure if this interests any of you, or if you just think I’m invasive and annoying but I’ve been learning a lot from asking the deep questions. Either way, I’m probably going to continue to talk about love with all. If you ever see me, let sit down and chat over coffee!

Love you all for taking time out of your day to listening to my ramblings. The adventure always continues.

Until next time, Sam

P.s. I’m living the island life at my camp for the summer so my blog appearances may be fairly sporadic for the next couple months. I’ll do my best though!

DSC02699.JPG

Leave a Reply

