A fresh blog and a messy picture

Tada! New Year, new blog!

My intention with this little impromptu overhaul was simply to make my site more easily navigated. I was constantly getting frustrated by the lack of an archive and bio panel, like the one now to the side, as well the inability to see visibly how posts are organized. I was getting confused and it’s my blog! I know all the little ins and outs and how to find things, so I can only imagine how difficult it was for others to find archives, recent posts and even a simple search bar. I hope this update has made it easier!

The other reason was because I wanted a cleaner, more professional look. I was getting a little tired of the yellow graphic at the top of the page and this theme allows me to have the focus on content and not unnecessary clutter.

It’s still not perfect, but I’m liking it at the moment. I hope you do too! This blog is always changing and evolving as I learn how to use the site better and figure out what I want it to look like. Thanks for bearing with me!

Lastly, a quick note about the photo I’ve chosen as the header. For the longest time, I’ve had a shot there of myself sitting on a wall in Lausanne, Switzerland looking out over the water and the mountains. I LOVE that picture, I really do. That day is such a sweet memory and it reminds me to keep looking forward to new adventures. With my new theme however, I could’t get it to fit quite right and I took it as a sign to try something new. After an annoyingly long time, I finally chose this one.

cropped-more-suisse-interlaken-251.jpg

It’s from a train trip Amen and I took in Interlaken. Again, a wonderful adventure and fond memory. But that’s not why I chose the picture. I picked it because it’s far from perfect. There are wires everywhere disrupting the view. Amen was calling for me to hurry up and the train was actually in motion when I snapped it. It was cloudy and there are several safety signs making an appearance; not exactly photography gold. Let’s be real, it’s not a great shot. But there’s something about it that screams adventure to me. It’s real. It’s motion and blue sky and messy composition.

It’s adventure. Sam’s Grand Adventure. A name chosen because it sounded regal and, in my humble opinion, rather epic. Grand adventures don’t have to be sailing seas in high winds and climbing mountains with good friends (although that does sound exciting). Grand adventures are long and have many ups and downs. They are chasing trains and finding dusty books in old stores. They are laughing over tea until you have tears in your eyes and worrying about what you want to be when you grow up. Life, life is a grand adventure. And that picture up there, is just one example of how messily perfect grand adventures can be.

I hope you like the new layout. I really wasn’t intending this post to be more than a few words but then again, sometimes words seem to spill out of my fingertips like they have a mind of their own. Maybe I’ve been reading too much Lord of the Rings and have my brain all tangled up in what it must be like to set out on an epic adventure.

Until next time,

-Sam

One thought on “A fresh blog and a messy picture

Leave a Reply

