Pitch Perfect 2 – It’s a Love/Hate Thing

Here it goes, my round two attempt at a movie review. And yes, I know that the category is listed as books and movies but as a second semester high school senior, reading for pleasure is a hard no. Not that I don’t want to, but even finding time to write a blog post or hang out with my friends is a struggle, let alone trying to plow through a 400 page novel. So, book reviews, I’m hoping will come someday when I have a bit more time on my hands.

This week I went to see Pitch Perfect 2 not once, but twice. Yes, I know I’m crazy. The first movie is one of my absolute favourites of all time and I can pretty much recite it to you word for word. I was nervous about going to see the second one because what if it didn’t live up to my very high expectations?

Thankfully it did. It was hilarious but also oddly heart-warming? I loved that the girls had to struggle with moving on in life while still staying connected to the friends and memories they made in school, something I’m currently dealing with as I move into my last month of high school.  Penetonix making an appearance as the Canadian team? Genius. Also, Fat Amy, that is all. Everything Rebel Wilson does in these movies is hilarious.  And of course, if a good a capella movie soundtrack doesn’t amuse you, I don’t know what will. Let’s be honest, the movie doesn’t have a very complex plot, but as a comedy, it was great.

Kind of. The thing is, as much as I loved it, it also made me a little uncomfortable. I felt that a few of the jokes went just a little too far, past the so-called “acceptable” level of offensive humour and edging into the territory of just plain offensive. Now, others may agree or disagree with me on where that line lies (or even if it exists at all) but I had this slight moral struggle after going to see it the first time. Yet I went again.

On the drive home on Tuesday night one of the girls I had gone to see it with made the comment that it was almost easier to swallow the crass humour because of how straight up it was. Other films will dance around topics. You know exactly what they are getting at but they don’t, if you’ll excuse me, have the balls to outright say it. Pitch Perfect on the other hand, both the first and the second, is unabashedly racist and sexist to your face. It’s part of that absurdity that makes it funny.  Still, how can I love a film series so much but not agree with some of the things it promotes? If someone I knew said those things in real life, I would so not be okay with it.

I guess one thing to keep in mind is that it is a comedy. The things they are saying are said purposely to make people laugh, and yes, maybe even to get a rise out of them. The jokes I had a problem with are stereotypical and rude and it’s almost like they are funny just because they dared to say them out loud. Now, I will say, Pitch Perfect also has a secondary level of humour that you catch more of when you watch it more than once, jokes that aren’t so in your face which is one reason I like them.

At the end of the day, I still loved the movie, I still went to see it again, I will still buy it when it comes out. Does that make me a hypocrite to support media that promotes values I don’t agree with? I don’t know. I really don’t have an answer. I just figured I would share my thoughts on a movie I waited anxiously to see and thoroughly enjoyed, even if it made me question what I find funny and why I find it so. Maybe I’m reading way too much into this anyway haha!

What do you think? Have you seen the movie? Were there any jokes that you felt went too far? Am I a hypocrite?! Sound off below!

 Here’s the link to the trailer if anyone’s interested.

– Until next time, Sam

3 thoughts on “Pitch Perfect 2 – It’s a Love/Hate Thing

Leave a Reply

