Today, I Fell Down A Mountain

Salut! Wow, these last two weeks have absolutely flown by, I’ve been super busy. Not even busy per say, more just settled into life I guess which is always busy. There have been however several occasions that probably called for their own blog post but I’ve just been lazy/unmotivated/otherwise occupied to write. So here it is! The summery of the last two weeks, abridged! (And then you can laugh at today’s embarrassing story)

First was my birthday on the fifth. One of the best things about my birthday was that even though I wasn’t at home, I had a bundle of letters and cards to read through from some of my friends and family which made it extra special! Thank to Mom, Dad, Auntie Susie, the Quinns, Moriah and Victoria, you guys rock! I also came home after school (half day Wednesdays are amazinggg) to a special lunch and presents from my host family! 🙂 Skype with some family back home and lots of Facebook messages made it an overall great day! Seventeen and still can’t drive hehe #SamProblems. Then again, I AM in Switzerland, not a #SamProblem There was also a joint birthday picnic by the river for me and Yandira on the Saturday which was lots and lots of fun.

On another note, can we just quickly address the fact the BAGELS DON’T EXIST IN EUROPE. Personally, I think that’s a tragedy so I made some for my host family, they were both confused and amazed and wanted to know why I was boiling bread and putting holes in perfectly good rolls. Now however, they love them and I have a feeling I’ll be baking them again soon! (Also, you can buy yeast in a gas station in Europe)

I also went on yet another adventure this week, by train and with a bunch of people who, for once, speak English! Woo! Who you may be asking? The other exchange students of course! Wow, that last sentence sounds way lamer than I thought it was going to but I’m leaving it in anyway wanna know why? It’s my blog and I can sound lame if I wanna, lame if I wanna. Okay, sorry. Please don’t leave and never come back. I’m getting to the funny story about my public humilation soon, I promise. So right, Bern! Or Berne, depending on if you speak French or German. Which for the record is a very interesting sounding language.

I got to meet up with a bunch of the people I had met on the flight, SPEAK ENGLISH for a whole day (!) and basically catch up on everyone’s experiences while touring the Capitol City of Switzerland. Combine that with getting to miss school for the day and you get a good trip. I feel bad for everyone else who was in our train car because a bunch of kids who have been barely able to communicate for weeks are VERY loud. We all were talking over each other and yelling every time someone said something relate able! There was also a Harry Potter incident that resulted in tears…

To sum that day up, English, friendship, laughter, cathedral, museum, more laughter, more English, shopping, Toblorone McFlurries, bread, annnnnd to all of you who wanted to be mentioned, Sarah, Olivia, Grace, Michael, Owen, Alex, Chelsea, Eva, Valerie, Tori, uhhh yep think that’s everyone 🙂

And finally the moment you’ve all been waiting for (I hope you all realise I found a productive use of my embarrassment by making you all read my blog heheh sneaky). Today Amen and I went to France to do some skiing. With my florescent pink snowpants, and Canadian mitts, it should have been a great day. But then came the too small ski boots dun dun dun duhhhh. I told the guy they didn’t fit but did he listen? Noooo. On second though, maybe my French is just so bad he couldn’t understand “trop petit!” But I decided to trust the professional. Afterall, I hadn’t work ski boots in years, maybe they were supposed to be that tight? Right?

Wrong. I could feel my feet by the time we got to the top. After only 2 runs my legs were literally giving out on me from lack of blood (When I later took the boots off, my feet and lower legs were actually blue). But I didn’t want to ruin the day so I just grinned and bared it. Until I couldn’t. Because although I realized today that I actually still am quite a good skier,  when your feet are numb, it’s kind of hard to keep control. And so down I went. Please keep in mind this is not Snow Valley. These are the freaking Alps. But you know what I was okay. I stopped grabbed the ski that had gone flying and tried to put it back on. And that, my friends is when I REALLY fell. Like head over heels, half rolling, half sliding, unable to stop and trying desperately to hold onto my poles and remaining ski. I crashed into one guy and he went down, crashed into another which send me going backwards. Wanna know where I finally came to a stop? In front of the packed ski chalet, where there were probably 50-80 people staring at me and laughing. Yep. I probably have the worst luck ever. Amen came and helped me up after she finished laughing and some guys had picked up my dropped equipment for me. For the record, not hurt haha so that is one bonus. And that was the end of my ski day. I returned the stupid too small boots and headed out. Sorry, one tumble like that is enough for this girl!

I was pretty frustrated that my day hadn’t gone as planned but you know, everything happens for a reason. I will never know the reason God didn’t want me up on that mountain this afternoon, but it was probably a good thing with my track record haha. Anyway, hope you guys back home are all doing well 🙂 Missing you, but having a good time. That’s all for now, enjoy your snow and this large and random assortment of photos from the last two weeks…take a look a what I’m expected to do in gym class, handstands and balance beams and front flips oh my!

– Sam EXCHANGE 377 EXCHANGE 372 EXCHANGE 369 EXCHANGE 359 EXCHANGE 349 EXCHANGE 334 EXCHANGE 317 EXCHANGE 318 EXCHANGE 321 EXCHANGE 323 EXCHANGE 326 EXCHANGE 333 EXCHANGE 310 EXCHANGE 308 EXCHANGE 301 EXCHANGE 282 EXCHANGE 288 EXCHANGE 292 Berne 011 Berne 019 Berne 021 EXCHANGE 275 Berne 010 Berne 007 Berne 078 Berne 077 Berne 076 Berne 064 Berne 066 Berne 067 Berne 073 Berne 075 Berne 069 Berne 061 Berne 059 Berne 053 Berne 050 Berne 044 Berne 037 Berne 025 Berne 032 Berne 033 EXCHANGE 178 EXCHANGE 182 EXCHANGE 185 EXCHANGE 186 EXCHANGE 193 EXCHANGE 197 EXCHANGE 200 EXCHANGE 202 EXCHANGE 206 EXCHANGE 207 EXCHANGE 213 EXCHANGE 216 EXCHANGE 229 EXCHANGE 231 EXCHANGE 235 EXCHANGE 247 EXCHANGE 251 EXCHANGE 253 EXCHANGE 261 EXCHANGE 262

One thought on “Today, I Fell Down A Mountain

  1. Pingback: Adventures in tripping – a little flippin’ never hurt! – Sam's Grand Adventure

Leave a Reply

