Sam In The City

So the plan was for today’s blog post to be about my first week of school butttt I went on an adventure today and I figured that was much more interesting anyway! School can wait…

I have to say that today has been one of my favourite days in Switzerland so far. The sun was shining, the sky was the perfect shade of blue and it was cool but not cold. So, after lunch my host parents Laye and Shif and I went to the Old City of Geneva and took a look around. Amen, unfortunately has a couple of tests tomorrow and had to say home and study 😦 We went to the Saint Pierre Cathedral and Laye and I climbed up…and up and up and up and up to the highest point in the city. You can walk all the way around and get a panoramic view of the city. It was magnificent! Seriously, so incredible. And like I said, it was a perfect day for it, nice and clear so we got a good view of the mountains, the famous water jet, Lac Leman, and all the pretty old buildings.

After the dizzying decent all the way back down the narrow spiral staircase, we kept walking through the old, narrow, cobblestoned streets. We stopped and had “marrons”, roasted chestnuts in a little paper bag and then we got to the Swiss Museum of History and Art. That’s right folks, I got to go to a museum! Most people probably think that’s super lame, but those of you who know me know that I loveeee museums. And it was super cool because it was free to the public, you just walked in and looked around as much or as little as you wanted. One wing was all cool historical artefacts, mostly from Geneva or at least Switzerland. Swords, armour, etc. One area was set up like a 1500th century “château” and I loved that!

The other wing was all Swiss/French artwork which was slightly less interesting for me but still very cool. Especially the stuff by Pablo Picasso because he was the only name I recognized! Not going to lie…his looked like they were drawn by a 4th grader. But you know what, I’m am not by any means an art critic and I still liked it!

So yeah, and then we walked back through the village to the car and drove home for a croissant and a cup of tea . A very lovely day by any standard. Now I’m just relaxing and writing and then tomorrow is back to school…maybe I’ll also write about school tomorrow. Who knows! Until then, enjoy these photos of my wonderful day! I hope everyone else’s Sunday was just as great 🙂 Blessed to be having this wonderful experience with such a great family in such a beautiful country and city!

Ps….only 3 more days of being 16 whoo!

Geneva 063 Geneva 029 Geneva 081 Geneva 021 Geneva 078 Geneva 053 Geneva 054Geneva 028Geneva 109 Geneva 115 Geneva 113 Geneva 111 Geneva 107 Geneva 106 Geneva 105 Geneva 091 Geneva 090 Geneva 087 Geneva 081 Geneva 076 Geneva 074 Geneva 069 Geneva 059 Geneva 082 Geneva 093 Geneva 043 Geneva 041 Geneva 040 Geneva 039 Geneva 031 Geneva 028

One thought on “Sam In The City

Leave a Reply

