Bonjour tout le monde! So yesterday I finally arrived here in Geneva! Holy cow was it really just yesterday? It feels like a longer time ago. We left Toronto at around 6:45 and I smiled while Mom cried lol. :p I met some friends before we got on the plane and then met more when I sat down. Grace and Kate flew with me and it was simply perfect because Kate had had a similar situation as me and it was really comforting to know that I was not the only one whose exchange hadn’t gone perfectly. We were able to talk through our nerves about going to a family we hadn’t met…her situation was even more crazy because he only got her new partner last week AND it’s a guy! Anyway, the plane ride was good but I didn’t sleep at all because I couldn’t get comfortable. We each had our own tv screens where you could watch a movie or a tv show or the map of the trip or listen to music. It was so cool! The other girls laughed at me because I had never been on a plane like that. :p I watched Monster’s University, an episode of Modern Family and La Petite Sirène. (Happy Mallory?) I also stared out the window A LOT because for a long time there were no clouds and I could see the ocean. It was frozen but in some spots, there were hugggge cracks that spread out like trees roots and it looked beautiful. Also, I watched while we flew over the lights of Ireland and England which brought back good memories 🙂 We arrived in Paris just as the sun was rising, 7:30 local time which meant I was non-voluntarily pulling an all-nighter! I went through customs, got a stamp in my passport, bought a 5 euro bottle of water and boarded the flight to Geneva. I got a littttle bit of sleep on that one but woke up when the other students started ooo and ahhhing over the mountains we were passing! I got my luggage and then went to meet Amen and her parents, it was so cute they greeted me with a big bouquet of flowers and kisses on both cheeks! We went to their apartment which is beautifullll and I had a quick shower. Then we had lunch and Amen and I sat and chatted and she started teaching me to play piano. I’ve never realized just how terrible my French is until I got here because it’s driving me crazy not being able to say what I want to say as you all know I love to talk! I also feel bad because everyone has to repeat themselves over and over and over again! Ca la vie, I guess. Amen took me for a walk around the neighbourhood in the afternoon because I was falling asleep and showed me the school and the bus station and the everything else. Then we went out and had pizza for dinner and then FINALLY it was late enough that I could go to bed. I slept for 14 hours oh mon dior! As my new friend Diana said about  50 times today :p Okay this is getting really long and I want to go to beddd. So today Amen and I went out with her friends and went shopping and walked around and hung out. Her friends are really nice and funny and a bit weird but that’s okay because it reminded me of my friends haha! Sorry guys. 🙂 When they were all talking really fast I couldn’t understand a lot but I liked to just listen and they tried to explain thing slower for me sometimes. One of Amen’s friends, Yandira or just Ira has a birthday two days before mine so she said we should celebrate them together 🙂 Geneva is beautifullll like I can’t even explain. Literally every direction you look, you see mountains. And while there are some newer buildings there are also the older European style ones which is cool. We took a boat ride on Lac Léman and I could see the mountains well from there. It’s strange because there’s snow on the mountains but not on the ground. Also! I bought my first Starbucks here and guess how much? 6.70 CH, the equivalent of like $9 for a grande Chai latte! C’est tres fou! And We realized that Amen is reading “Le meilleur des mondes” for her french class, the french version of “A Brave New World” which I have to read for english. I guess there are some things you can’t avoid no matter what language you speak 😉 There’s probably a lot more I could write but I’m tired and my laptop is going to die so cho cho or au revoir for now!

9 thoughts on “

  1. Shanna

    Can’t wait until you read me and Victoria’s notes! P.s. I hope you’re having a great time, learning lots, making friends, and I miss you!

  2. Cindy Kelly

    Very cool Sam…neat that you had another friend on the flight with a similar but even crazier experience so far. it sounds like Amen and her family are very nice and you are fitting in well:) keep blogging…I look forward to hearing all about your adventures. So proud of you and love you lots.

  3. Victoria Emma Wilson

    Im so super jealous of you right now! It sounds amazing! Im so proud of you for sticking it out through all the issues that arose during the process. I miss you in religion already, and it sucks because youre on a completely different continent! Which is crazy to think about because just a few days ago I was being attacked by your dog and you were just laughing at me. Learn lots of new French words so you can teach me when you get home! Tell Amen I say BONJOUR even though she probably doesnt even know who I am. Love you ma meilleure amie! ❤

  4. chantel caldwell

    daaaaa look at you all fancy on a airo plane lol glad you are having a great time. Skype soon time ok/ ok good talk!!! love ya

Leave a Reply

