Packing Is Like A Puzzle

With a limited amount of space and a weight limit of a mere 50 pounds, I’m finding it really difficult to decide what to take with me to Switzerland. Of course there are things that are necessary but then there are questions like “How many pairs of shoes can I take?” “Is this too heavy?” “Do I really need this?” “What if (insert random event) happens and I need (insert probably unnecessary item) ” and the most important one of all, “Sir, please don’t make me take that textbook!”

Seriously, how do I pick what I’m going to wear for the next three months??? Not to mention, this is the first time since grade 8 that I will not being wearing a uniform to school which means the added pressure of trying to pick an outfit everyday. At least at this point, my to-do list is pretty much completely finished and I can actually start putting things into my suitcase rather than spreading haphazardly around my room.The worst part though is that every time I put something in the bag, I end up wanting to use it/wear it and it comes right back out. Oops :p haha #SamProblems

So now I am faced with the task of fitting all my stuff into the bag and keeping it underweight. It really does feel like a puzzle, trying to see where everything is going to fit in and hoping I have all the pieces. Prices are crazily expensive in Switzerland and I don’t want to forget stuff and have to buy it there. Like for example, I’ve heard from other exchange students that an eye-liner pencil can is about 18 francs while a coffee is minimum 6 francs. And since 1 franc is equal to $1.30 Canadian, that is a lotttt of money. I actually found out that Geneva is the 4th most expensive city in the world! Which should be an interesting experience for me, one of the most frugal people I know!

All that aside, it’s finally starting to feel real that I’m leaving although I don’t think it will fully sink in until I’m sitting on the plane. I wish the 15th would just hurry up and get here. Oh something exciting I found out is that the week I get to Switzerland they have their winter sport break so no school! I’m not sure what my family had planned for that week but I’m sure it will be fun! Weeee as of right now, there are 8 days, 23 hours and 8 minutes until my plane takes off!

Leave a Reply

