Lists, Countdowns and Surprises Oh My!

The countdown is on! Actually it’s been on for quite a while but now that the app on my phone reads only 12 more days, it’s finally starting to hit me. I am actually going to “Suisse” for three months next Saturday! The list of things I have to buy or do is slowly getting smaller and smaller as Mom and I rush around trying to get everything done between school, work and church. From mundane things such shampoo, conditioner and new socks to others that are more interesting and exciting like buying a European wall charger, changing Canadian dollars into Swiss Francs and getting a new travel journal. We also picked out gifts for me to take to Amen and her family, a stuffed Olympic moose for her, a hockey shirt for her brother and coasters and maple tea for her parents. Amen also asked if I could bring her maple cookies so I will have to pick some of those up! The items are piling up on the folded down futon in my room, waiting patiently to be squished together into my suitcase as I pray I stay under the 50 pound limit! I don’t know how on earth I am going to decide what clothes I want to take and wear for the next three months.

A few weeks ago I went to the pre-departure meeting with ISE at the school board. They gave us tips about packing, going to school in our host countries and getting used to living with our partner’s family. Emma and I couldn’t help but whisper the whole time,, earning us a few dirty looks from Mom. We also received our oh so attractive yellow ISE backpacks, our mandatory carry-on piece as well as an even hotter passport pouch which we are required to wear around our necks during travel. Dannnng we are going to look good 😉 In seriousness, we actually were excited to get our final travel details. Turns out I’ll be having a stop over in Paris before changing flights and carrying on to Geneva! Even better, on the way home my Swiss group is meeting up with Emma’s France group and we are flying home together! Although I’m not a huge fan of flying, I’m sure it will be fun because I will be with a huge group of exchange students.

I’ve been practising my French as much as I can lately, with Memrise and Duolingo so hopefully I will be able to communicate well with people in Suisse! I’ve also been talking to Amen and I’m glad she is my new partner. She is very outgoing and friendly and I am not nervous about going to stay with her which I am grateful for. We talk not every day but every few and that also helps my French.

So much to write! This is what happens when I slack off on blog writing hehe. I’m totally committed to posting at least once a week while I am away though, with pictures to keep my friends and family back home up to date! So anyway, another thing is that yesterday Mom and Mal threw me a surprise early birthday/going away party. I kind of suspected they were planning something due to a series of suspicious events however I hadn’t expected it to be so soon before I was leaving so I was very surprised! I came in the door, arms full of bags and they were behind the door. I actually screamed because they scared me! I guess Mal didn’t organize it properly/know how to work Facebook events so there were only a few people but it was a nice size and we all just sat at  the kitchen table and chatted. People popped in and out as well. So, if you are somehow reading this, thanks to Mom, Mal, Hugh, Victoria, Moriah, Lauren, Alex, Alannah, Amy, Laura, Griffin and Shanna for being there 🙂 On a similar note, it’s so strange celebrating my birthday so early, getting presents nearly a month before the actual day because I will be away in March.

I am getting tired. It is after midnight and tomorrow is the first day back to school after exams, the start of a new semester. I have a spare, English, French and Religion, easy because I will be away for most of the semester. I’ll have to confirm with my teachers this week what they want me to do while I am away. These two weeks will be difficult to focus on anything in class…I’ll have trip on the brain!

Guess this is good-by for now, hopefully the next time I post I will have a least had a start on packing….enjoy some pictures below of various bits of packing and trip paraphernalia. Oh and my new Converse because I simply love them and want to share them with the world haha. Au revoir cyberspace

up to date!ImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

